Canadian Sleep Society Named Local Host For World Sleep 2019 Congress On Sleep Medicine

World Sleep Society (founded by World Association of Sleep Medicine and World Sleep Federation) has collaborated with the Canadian Sleep Society to host World Sleep 2019. The venue selected for the congress on sleep research and sleep medicine is the Vancouver Convention Centre, Vancouver, Canada, from September 20-25, 2019 . Located on British Columbia’s waterfront with mountain views, the Vancouver Convention Centre offers convenient access to downtown visitor amenities.

More information is available on www.worldsleepcongress.com.

The CSS is pleased to announce the winners of the following society awards for 2017; these will be presented in Opening Ceremonies at the 8th Conference of the CSS, Calgary, Alberta, April 28th, 2017:

Distinguished Scientist Award - This award is in recognition of a scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of sleep research in Canada.
Barbara E. Jones, PhD, FRSC, Professor Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery McGill University, Montreal Neurological Institute.

Roger Broughton Young Investigator Award Winner - This award is made to a young scientist for important early career research contributions.
Stuart Fogel, PhD, Assistant Professor School of Psychology, University of Ottawa; Director of Sleep Neuroscience, Royal’s Institute for Mental Health Research; Adjunct Professor Department of Psychology, Western University.

Student Outstanding Achievement Awards - This award is for the scientific merit of a single publication by a student in the field of sleep research. There are two winners for 2017:
Richard Boyce, Integrated Program in Neuroscience, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec for his innovative publication: “Causal evidence for the role of REM sleep theta rhythm in contextual memory consolidation”.
Samuel Laventure, Department of Psychology, University of Montreal, Montreal, Quebec, Functional Neuroimaging Unit, C.R.I.U.G.M., Montreal, Quebec for his innovative publication: “NREM2 and Sleep Spindles Are Instrumental to the Consolidation of Motor Sequence Memories”.

Technologist Service Award Winner - This award honours and recognizes a CSS member who has made significant contributions to the growth and development of the sleep technology profession.
Laree  Fordyce, RPSGT, RST, CCRP, CSE, Calgary, Alberta

Student Abstract Prize Winner - This award recognizes the best abstract submitted by a trainee
Sara Pintwala, PhD student at the University of the Toronto in the Department of Cells and Systems Biology, Abstract Title: “Activation of glutamate cells in the subcoeruleus nucleus triggers cataplexy-like attacks in wild-type mice”
Canadian Sleep Society (CSS) / Institute for Circulatory and Respiratory Health (ICRH) Student Travel Awards - This is a travel award given to top rated abstracts to attend the Calgary conference.
Cloé Blanchette-Carriere, Dream and Nightmare Laboratory, Center for Advanced Research in Sleep Medicine, Montreal, Quebec
Sara Pintwala, Department of Cell and Systems Biology, University of Toronto

More details on awards at https://css-scs.ca/resources/awards and https://www.eiseverywhere.com/ehome/css2017/475384/

The Huffington Post is looking for a dedicated “sleep reporter” to cover the impact of sleep on health and disease.  See their website.

The 2016 CSS Annual Corporate Report is now available for download in ENGLISH and FRENCH.

In this report you will find a Letter from the President, profiles on the Board of Directors, spotlights on CSS activities (e.g., strategic planning meeting, position paper, insomnia rounds, patient information brochures, website renovations), updates on activities of the special-interest groups in insomnia, and information on our biennial conferences and membership demographics. Please read and distribute widely to help us grow the membership. Contact any board member with your questions or ideas.


Page 1 of 15